When you enable Do Not Disturb mode on your iPhone, all incoming call notifications and alerts are silenced. This includes text messages, email notifications, app alerts, and other sound or visual notifications that normally interrupt you.
You can schedule Do Not Disturb mode to turn on and off automatically or activate it manually whenever you need peace and quiet. For example, you might enable Do Not Disturb mode before bed or during a meeting.
You can also enable a new High Alerts setting if you have an iPhone with iOS 13 or later. This will ensure important notifications from your favorite contacts get through, even when Do Not Disturb mode is enabled.
So, to answer your question, What Do Hide Alerts Mean on Your iPhone? Hide Alerts means notifications will not interrupt you when the Do Not Disturb mode is turned on. But with High Alerts, you can still receive notifications from your favorite contacts.
What Does Hide Alerts Mean on Your iPhone?
The Hide Alerts feature on your iPhone allows you to mute all notifications from your contacts list. This means that you will not receive notifications or hear any sounds when someone tries to text you. By enabling Hide Alerts will allow you to block messages. Hide Alerts feature won’t stop any messages, and the sender receives an delivery report when the message is delivered to the iMessage App.. This feature works phenomenally well in keeping you the least distracted when trying to focus on something productive.
How to Enable Hide Alerts on Your iPhone?
If you are constantly bombarded with messages and notifications, Hide Alerts may be a feature worth considering. This option will allow you to silence all incoming message alerts when you open the iMessage App. When this is enabled, you will still receive messages, but you will not see notification banners or any sounds. These are steps to block your messages in your iMessage App: iMessage App:
Step 1: Lock your iPhone and then launch Settings App. Settings App.
2. Tap the Notifications option. It will be in the sixth spot at the top.
3. Tap Messages , then switch the toggle to turn Notifications off , or turn it grey.
And that’s it! You will not be bombarded with message alerts when you have the iMessage App open. If you want to enable notifications again, follow the steps above and toggle the switch to Allow Notifications.
How to Enable Hide Alerts on Your iPhone for a specific Contact or a Group?
If you want to block the alerts to a particular person or group you can follow the following steps:
Step 1: Lock your iPhone and then open the Messenger App.
Step 2. In the list, select the thread for your contact or group you don’t want to receive alerts , and tap the name of your contact.
Step 3: An option for hiding Alerts will be visible. You can turn the toggle off or turn it gray.
When you hide alerts, you will no longer receive notification banners or sounds when you receive a message from that person or group. However, the messages will still appear in your notifications list. If you have disabled notifications for a specific app, you will not receive any alerts.
Will The Contact/Group Know That I Have Enabled Hide Alerts?
If you enable the “Hide Alerts” option for a contact or group, they will not be notified each time you send a message. This can be useful if you’re part of a group chat that is particularly active or if you don’t want a specific person to know every time you’ve sent them a message. However, it’s important to note that the person or group you’ve enabled this option for will still be able to see that you’ve sent them a message – they just won’t be alerted to it immediately.
Are DND And Enabling Hide Alerts the Same?
No, DND and enabling Hide Alerts are not the same.The option to enable this Hide Alerts feature will block alerts from a specific contact/group or all the contacts according to the settings you have set. If you do, however, enable DND the notifications on the iPhone will be turned off. DND is an orientated feature since it does not send notifications for calls, messages, apps or any other kind of alert. But contacts you have will be able to know that you’ve disabled DND because it’s visible within your iMessage App on their side.
So, there you have it – What Does Hide Alerts Mean on Your iPhone? By now, you should have a pretty good understanding of what this feature does and how to enable it.
If you have any questions, feel free to drop them in the comments section below, and I will be happy to answer.